When Responsibility Takes Over

Writing seems to run ceaselessly through my roots.  Ever since I was little, my constant companions were my pen, which I grew up calling Penny, and a paper.  Weaving words has become a hobby; more so with transforming thoughts into written statements.  With such, I became a member of the editorial board during my elementary and secondary years in schooling, and decided to master the craft in college.

 Ironically, I ended up majoring in Speech Communication, as opposed to my first love which is writing.  Circumstances brought me to reach the decision of learning the art of rhetoric, but it seems that fate would not let Penny and I go separate ways.  It has not occurred to me (in serious thoughts, shall I say) that I would end up earning by doing what I love the most.

 Penny and I are just at the beginning of a roller coaster ride in the world of words, where critics of different sorts thrive.  Being employed as an advertising assistant paved the way for me to refresh and exercise once again my writing prowess.  It did help, anyway, to be a feature writer as a part of my work to relive the writer in me.  Initially, I was appreciative of the job I got which helped me in my metamorphosis, but as time passes, writing becomes less of a hobby and more of a responsibility.

 Almost everyday, I write.  Penny and I work all the time together.  During our writing sessions, I learn new words and enrich my vocabulary bank.  The passion is still there, though at times, it tends to diminish.  Writing as a responsibility becomes demanding; I felt like I am lost for words or thoughts to express with the fear of being criticized for my every word, for my every punctuation, for my every stress.

When responsibility takes over, I feel a sense of trepidation but I must overcome. I must win over the anxiety conquering my thoughts. Penny wouldn’t let me lose this battle.  Anyway, Penny is mightier than the sword.


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment